11 books for caregivers on the journey with their loved ones.

Surviving Schizophrenia, by E. Fuller Torrey

Since publication in 1983, Surviving Schizophrenia has become the standard reference book on the disease and has guided and helped thousands of patients, their families and mental health professionals.

Visit website

The Complete Family Guide to Schizophrenia: Helping your loved one get the most out of life By Kim T Mueser PhD and Susan Gingerich MSW

A book designed to deepen your understanding of schizophrenia and offer pragmatic real world suggestions for dealing with depression, psychosis, and other symptoms by showing you how to prioritize needs, resolve everyday problems, and encourage your loved one to set life goals.

Visit website

The Shock of the Fall, by Nathan Filer

Winner of the 2013 Costa First Novel Award and regarded by comedian and former nurse Jo Brand as the best fiction about mental illness she had ever read, The Shock of the Fall is a heartfelt story of a family learning to pick up the pieces in the wake of tragedy.

Visit website

Me, Myself, and Them: A First-hand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia, by Kurt Snyder

Kurt Snyder’s mind was ‘hijacked’ by schizophrenia during college. With the help of a psychiatrist and veteran science writer, Kurt paints a picture from the vantage point of recovery and eloquently describes the debilitating changes in thoughts and perceptions that took hold of his life during his teens and twenties.

Visit website

The Center Cannot Hold: A Memoir of My Schizophrenia, by Elyn R. Saks

The moving story of the life of Elyn R. Saks; an esteemed professor, lawyer, and psychiatrist who has lived with schizophrenia for most of her life.

Visit website

Henry's Demons: Living with Schizophrenia, by Henry and Patrick Cockburn

A father and son tell their extraordinary account of a steep descent into mental illness and offer a glimpse into the conflicted history of schizophrenia’s diagnosis and treatment.

Visit website

Learning from the Voices in My Head, by Eleanor Longden

Eleanor Longden was a college freshman when she started hearing voices in her head. Now on the cusp of finishing her Ph.D. in psychology, Longden still hears voices — and she says she wouldn’t live without them. Part personal memoir and part medical argument, this book challenges society’s perception of mental health.

Visit website

David's Adventure with Schizophrenia: My Road to Recovery, by David LaChapelle

A true story of two patients with schizophrenia meeting in hospital and embarking on a whirlwind tour of Canada and New York. Pawning possessions, selling stocks, sleeping in McDonald’s parking lots, and narrowly escaping arrest on a possible kidnapping charge; their escapades provide a wild ride until Dave finally receives the help he needs to heal and become healthy once more.

Visit website

Confessions of an Imperfect Caregiver

Bobbi Carducci’s brutally honest memoir shares what it’s really like for caregivers. Her story is one of the human experience, a journey about taking care of her aging and mentally ailing father-in-law, full of all the ups and downs you’d expect of overcoming of setbacks along the way. At the heart of the book, Carducci shares her wisdom and the idea that you never have to be perfect.

Visit website

Bitter Medicine: A Graphic Memoir of Mental Illness

Two brothers, both diagnosed with schizophrenia, and their thirty-year struggle to cope, comprehend and overcome. One brother, a talented visual artist drew sketches, comic strips and portraits to help document the experience along the way.

Visit website

One writer’s uncle struggled with schizophrenia and became the inspiration for the author’s first book

Danielle Lim’s first book, The Sound of SCH: A Mental Breakdown, A life Journey is the true story and retelling of her uncle’s 30-year struggle living with schizophrenia. Set against the backdrop of a fast-moving Singapore in the 1990s, Lim underlines the power of comfort and understanding.

For the book: https://www.ethosbooks.com.sg/products/the-sound-of-sch-a-mental-breakdown-a-life-journey

Visit website

Onze livres destinés aux aidants sur leur parcours en compagnie de leurs êtres chers.

Surviving Schizophrenia, by E. Fuller Torrey

Depuis sa publication, en 1983, Surviving Schizophrenia est devenu l’ouvrage de référence sur la maladie, ayant servi de guide à de milliers de patients, à leur famille et à leurs professionnels de la santé mentale.

Visiter le site Web

The Complete Family Guide to Schizophrenia: Helping your loved one get the most out of life By Kim T Mueser PhD and Susan Gingerich MSW

Ce livre est conçu pour vous permettre d’approfondir votre compréhension de la schizophrénie et présente des suggestions pratiques en situation réelle pour composer avec la dépression, la psychose et d’autres symptômes, en vous enseignant comment prioriser les besoins, résoudre les problèmes survenant au quotidien et encourager votre être cher à établir ses objectifs de vie.

Visiter le site Web

The Shock of the Fall, by Nathan Filer

Gagnant du prix Costa remis au meilleur premier roman de 2013 et considéré par la comédienne et ancienne infirmière Jo Brand comme le meilleur roman de fiction portant sur la maladie mentale qu’elle ait jamais lu, Contrecoups raconte l’histoire touchante d’une famille qui tente de se relever à la suite d’une tragédie.

Visiter le site Web

Me, Myself, and Them: A First-hand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia, by Kurt Snyder

Durant ses années à l’université, Kurt Snyder a vu son esprit en quelque sorte détourné par la schizophrénie. Avec l’aide d’un psychiatre et d’un rédacteur scientifique chevronné, Kurt a brossé un portrait de la maladie sur le plan de la guérison et décrit avec éloquence les altérations de ses pensées et de ses perceptions qui ont pris le contrôle de sa vie au cours de l’adolescence et de la vingtaine.

Visiter le site Web

The Center Cannot Hold: A Memoir of My Schizophrenia, by Elyn R. Saks

Cet ouvrage autobiographique raconte l’histoire émouvante d’Elyn R. Saks, éminente professeure, avocate et psychiatre qui a vécu avec la schizophrénie pratiquement toute sa vie.

Visiter le site Web

Henry's Demons: Living with Schizophrenia, by Henry and Patrick Cockburn

Un père et son fils font le récit extraordinaire de leur descente vertigineuse dans la maladie mentale et donnent un aperçu de l’histoire conflictuelle du diagnostic et du traitement de la schizophrénie.

Visiter le site Web

Learning from the Voices in My Head, by Eleanor Longden

Eleanor Longden entamait ses études universitaires lorsqu’elle a commencé à entendre des voix dans sa tête. Actuellement sur le point de terminer son doctorat en psychologie, Mme Longden entend toujours ces voix — et elle dit qu’elle ne saurait vivre sans elles. À la fois mémoire personnel et argumentaire médical, cet ouvrage remet en question la perception de la société à l’égard de la santé mentale.

Visiter le site Web

David's Adventure with Schizophrenia: My Road to Recovery, by David LaChapelle

Ce livre raconte l’histoire vraie de deux patients atteints de schizophrénie qui se rencontrent à l’hôpital avant de se lancer dans une folle virée au Canada et dans l’État de New York. Ils contractent des prêts sur gage, vendent de la marchandise, dorment dans des stationnements de McDonald’s et échappent de justesse à une arrestation pour tentative d’enlèvement. Au retour de cette aventure mouvementée, David obtient finalement l’aide dont il a besoin pour se rétablir et recouvrer la santé.

Visiter le site Web

Confessions of an Imperfect Caregiver

Dans ce récit autobiographique, Bobbi Carducci décrit avec une brutale franchise la réalité des aidants. Elle raconte dans l’optique de l’expérience humaine son cheminement auprès de son beau-père âgé et de santé mentale fragile, ponctué des hauts et des bas qui accompagnent les échecs à surmonter en cours de route. Au cœur de son récit, Mme Carducci nous fait part de sa sagesse et de sa conviction qu’il n’est jamais nécessaire d’être parfait.

Visiter le site Web

Bitter Medicine: A Graphic Memoir of Mental Illness

L’histoire de deux frères ayant tous deux reçu un diagnostic de schizophrénie, et leur combat de 30 ans pour s’adapter à la maladie, la comprendre et la surmonter. L’un d’eux, un talentueux artiste visuel, a produit des dessins, des bandes dessinées et des portraits qui racontent leur expérience tout au long de ce cheminement.

Visiter le site Web

L’oncle d’une auteure atteint de schizophrénie a inspiré son premier livre.

Le premier livre de Danielle Lim, intitulé The Sound of SCH: A Mental Breakdown, A life Journey raconte l’histoire vraie de son oncle et des 30 années de sa vie qui ont été bouleversées par la schizophrénie. Dans ce récit qui a pour toile de fond la vibrante Singapour des années 1990, Mme Lim met en lumière le pouvoir du réconfort et de la compréhension.

Pour le livre : https://www.ethosbooks.com.sg/products/the-sound-of-sch-a-mental-breakdown-a-life-journey

Visiter le site Web